Sebastien Sasseville Q + A

It’s time for the November ‘Ask the Expert‘ blog, this time with my friend and fellow type 1 Sebastien Sasseville. Sebastien is a pretty amazing person and I’m excited to share some of his wisdom with you. There are certain people in our life who make us realize that anything really is possible – and I know that for some of you, I play that role. Seb for me is someone who really makes you realize that it’s all about attitude and hard work. Want something badly enough? Then go after it. Work for it. Decide that you want to do it. That the work, the sacrifice, and the outcome, is important to you.

Screen Shot 2018-11-27 at 8.54.52 PM
Climb Everest. Run across the Sahara. Run across Canada. Check. Check. Check. (Photos from sebinspire.com)

Sebastien answered a few questions for me (likely at an airport as he just completed his 100th flight of the year!) about his diabetes and his approach to living an exceptional life – including his most recent accomplishment – writing a book about his journey thus far. Enjoy!

  1. So you’re now an author! Congratulations! That’s such an awesome accomplishment. Why did you decide to write your book, and share your story, now?

My book first came out in 2016 in French. I received such tremendous feedback on it that I decided to get it translated in English with the hope to have a bigger impact on a larger audience. After every motivational keynote I did, I always felt like I could have told so many more stories. That’s what prompted me to write a book, and to sort of immortalize my journey so far.

Screen Shot 2018-11-27 at 9.23.19 PM
instagram.com/sebinspires/

(Want to buy Sebastien’s book? Click here to purchase a signed copy. And be sure to check out my Instagram for a GIVEAWAY!)

2. If someone were to google you they’d easily find out that you climbed Everest, ran across Canada, the Sahara, and are an Ironman triathlete. What is something less known about you – diabetes or non-diabetes related?

I’m passionate about writing, screenplay writing to be specific. I’ve written 2 movies, and it is a dream to see them made into features films. For now they are just sitting on a shelf in my living room, but it always feels good to set a goal, work countless hours on it and achieve it.

3. You work as a motivational speaker in front of large corporate audiences. What is your favorite story to share with the audiences? Is there one in particular that really seems to resonate with the crowd?

Definitely Jack Poisson’s story! A young boy living with diabetes whom I met during the run across Canada. He represented my WHY, he gave me fuel to keep going during the hard days. He was 10 years old at the time of the run and called every week with questions like: “Are you eating well? Are you sleeping well?”

4. Do you ever think about your legacy? When you’re 90 years old, thinking back on your life, what do you think you will be most proud of?

Impact. Everything I do is fueled by the desire to help. When I’m 90 years old, or right now for that matter, my biggest accomplishment isn’t Everest, or running across Canada. What I am most proud of is having had significant impact on a large number of people.

Screen Shot 2018-11-27 at 9.26.07 PM
sebinspire.com

5. Managing diabetes is hard. And everyone has their bad days, and/or bad habits. I can’t remember the last time that I changed my lancet on my tester for instance. Oops! What about you? Do you count carbs? Change your lancet? Which habit is most in need of improvement?

I don’t change my lancet either! I think we all need to pre-bolus more. I personally need to eat less.

6. I’m always curious to hear from other Type 1 athletes about their nutrition – how do you fuel? Do you follow any rules or limitations when you are training? Or is everything fair game?

No rules or limitations whatsoever diabetes wise. We do manually what people without diabetes do automatically. That said, my nutrition is largely impacted by training cycles. I committed to Ironman again, with the dream to make it to Kona. I fuel for performance and for weight management during race season.

Screen Shot 2018-11-27 at 9.25.15 PM
Representing the Diabetes Sports Project. Photo: sebinspire.com

7. Favorite workout music? Think FTP on the bike, pain cave, motivational music. What gets you going?

I like epic music mixes, lots of great tracks on youtube!

8. Back to diabetes for a second – How old were you when you were diagnosed? What would you tell your newly diagnosed self?

I’d tell myself to take care of it and to continue to focus on what I really love to do.

 

Merci Seb for sharing your thoughts with me! Here’s to a strong race season ahead and a ticket to Kona! If you want to connect and learn more about Sebastien, check out his website: sebinspire.com

Screen Shot 2018-11-27 at 9.38.36 PM
sebinspire.com

Inspired to pursue your big goal? Go get it! Take that first step. And let me know in the comments below – what small actionable step can you take today? What step can you take this week? Remember that action breeds action. Don’t overthink it. Just start.

 

 

 

Leave a comment